PDA

View Full Version : novice question about semi-auto handgun

cmcwhorter42
February 14, 2006, 01:26 PM
I am brand new to shooting and purchased a Sig P226 9mm handgun. I have used it several times with no problems at the range. Last night while shooting the action didn't stay open when all the rounds were finished. I have only used fiocci ammo before last night, but thought I would try magtech clean range and blazer. The gun was completely clean before shooting, so I am unsure what the cause would be. I was sure to be firm with my grip, but it still happened. Not sure what to think at this point. Any help would be appreciated. It started while using the magtech ammo, but they are all 115 grain FMJ ammo. Is my handgun that tempermental?

Mark54g
February 14, 2006, 02:01 PM
Check the mags. Were they seated fully and properly? I would also check the guide rod and recoil spring and consider changing out the recoil spring. Fiocchi tends to be on the warm side. Your gun might need the extra oomph of that if the springs are worn.

stangfan93
February 14, 2006, 02:04 PM
once i used a 9mm sig at the range and several times it the action didnt stay open for me either. i was using range reloads and sellier and bellot ammo. it also happened to me when i first bought my norinco 1911. again using range ammo for the first time since when you buy a gun at my range the range fee is waived. but the problem for that was the magazine. it was a colt magazine. the guy behind the counter let me borrow his mc cormick mag and it stayed open after that

Christian 812
February 14, 2006, 02:39 PM
CMC,
Welcome and congrats for buying one off the best 9 mm around (I do own a P226 and it's still my favourite).
Now, did you bought it NIB or second hand ?