PDA

View Full Version : .243 for mule deer?????

phelpsj
February 13, 2006, 10:38 AM
I am new to huntting big game and I have a s&w model 1500 in .243. Is this to small for huntting mule deer? All I have used it for is yotes. I have talked to some pepole and they told me it would be fine with a properly placed shot. Thanks for your help.

psycho nut
February 13, 2006, 11:04 AM
Sure, it would be fine. Like you said it's all about shot placement.

krs
February 13, 2006, 11:17 AM
You might want to chose a heavy bullet load, but it's a popular caliber for any deer. There's plenty of loads - it's a 6mm bullet. So use one of the heavier bullet loadings in factory ammo or load it up with any 6mm bullet you can find that's heavier than a factory used.

ClarkEMyers
February 13, 2006, 12:29 PM
It's on the small and weak side. Use it anyway and get out there.

Mostly it will do the job just fine. If you use it long enough it will let you down someday. You may find yourself walking up on a wounded deer with a why me look in its eyes that you would have avoided with a slightly more effective cartridge or losing a wounded deer to coyotes or somebody else's tag.

But with the best bullets, Nosler partition or one of the newer super premium bullets and a cool head I'd suggest using a rifle you know rather than starting over. Pay close attention to anatomy and know what part of the animal you intend the bullet to hit and put a good bullet there - which may mean picking your shots and passing up some angles that would be a good shot with a more powerful cartridge. Slipping a bullet through a hole in the brush and guessing whether the animal is looking back over its shoulder or over its rump doesn't work with a .243 the way it will with even a .25, or better yet a .270. Just the same the .243 will put a bullet of good construction where it's pointed to good effect.

Smokey Joe
February 13, 2006, 01:04 PM