PDA

View Full Version : Red dot vs. green dot scopes? Weaver mounts on picatinny rails?

C Philip
November 1, 2005, 08:39 PM
I want to get a red dot scope for my Beretta CX4. The top rail is a picatinny rail, but most of the red dots I see have weaver mounts. I hear weaver mounts will fit a picatinny rail, but not very well. Should I just buy separate mounts for the scope? Also, what is the difference between the red dot and the green dot scopes? (Besides the colour of course!) Is one supposed to be easier to see in different lighting situations, etc.?

2rugers
November 1, 2005, 09:00 PM
The red dot obscures colors somewhat in very low light. The green dot does not. However, dot size is very important in relation.

SavageCheesecake
November 1, 2005, 09:12 PM
I've used a red dot scope before, (nice, but not really my thing) but I'm no expert. Therefore I will use crappy logic to give you advice: Red dot scopes remind me of Kotex commercials, so go with the green.

20cows
November 1, 2005, 09:19 PM
Thanks for the image. I don't think I'll ever look through my red dot scope the same way again.:eek:

Limeyfellow
November 1, 2005, 09:27 PM
The human eye can also see green easier, which is why they use green colours in nightvision. Its just that it was easier in the past to make a red light laser compared to a green one.

SrtDog
November 1, 2005, 09:40 PM
Low light or not, never had a problem with my red dot. :)

jrfoxx
November 3, 2005, 09:13 PM
FWIW, I'm told green is easier to see well in daylight/well lit areas where the red dot is harder to see, (or possible, less well defined) but is better than green for dark areas. Dont know how true it is, I wont get my Bushnell 'Trophy' red green dot till Christmas, but i will be sure to compare the two colors in various lighting and leave a report, as i'm sure more people (myself included) are interested/confused/curious.

StormTrooper
November 4, 2005, 12:20 AM