PDA

View Full Version : Help with Winch. Model 70, Please

SIMP
October 3, 2005, 08:12 AM
Hi,
I'm totally new to firearms and wanted to see if you could please help me out. I just started deer hunting last year recently purchased this rifle from a friend for $150.00. (Photo attached) It is a Winchester Model 70 and well taken care of, but I can't seem to find out anything about it from their website. Can someone please tell me if I got a good deal and also what type model 70 this is? (Shadow, Super Shadow, Classic, etc) I would certainly appreciate any information you could provide me with. Thanks in advance for your feedback!

SIMP

joshua
October 3, 2005, 08:37 AM
It looks like this one http://www.gunsamerica.com/guns/976577637.htm I thought is was something like Ranger synthetic due to the no floorplate feature. Looks like a push feed model 70. dont knock the rife until you have tried it, I had a Winchester 70 Ranger with a wood stock and it shot groups in teh .75 moa. What caliber is it? If it's something I can use I'll offer you 165 bucks for it when I come back to the US. josh

Paul B.
October 3, 2005, 08:47 AM
Winchester made a special (?) run of Model 70s for Walmart that sold in the $350 range, at least in magnum calibers. They were usually scoped with a really "El Cheapo" Simmons scope and a really really crappy excuse for a recoil pad. I have one in .300 Win. mag. and I replaced the scope with a 3x9 Leupold and that rock of Gibralter they called a recoil pad with a Pachmeyr Decelerator recoil pad. The rifle is now reasonably pleasant to shoot and is way more accurate than what I would have expected.
Regardless of the cartridge yours takes, $150 was one hell of a good buy. :cool:
Paul B.

gak
October 3, 2005, 08:55 AM