PDA

View Full Version : First fulllsize handgun...

Megaloman84
May 12, 2005, 10:54 AM
I recently turned 21 and promptly went out and purchased a Bersa Thunder .380

It's a great little gun and should keep me satiated until I can afford something a little more substantial. However, I'm already starting to think about about what sort of fullsize handgun to start saving for next.

Since I'm a college student, I don't have a lot of spare cash lying around. I'v narrowed the short list down to a few decent but economical choices.

CZ-75/Witness/Baby Eagle

I've never fired any of these, but I have handled the Witness, and liked the ergonomics. Feature-wise, I give the nod to the CZ, since it can be had with a decocking lever. All seem to be very affordable and a good value for the money. Anybody have any thought or experiences that would help me decide between the CZ or its clones?

Also on the list

Taurus 24/7

It seems to get rave reviews. Ergonomically, it just doesn't seem as nice as the CZ to me. I know that's odd, because ergonomics usually seems to be where it scores best. Still, the ones I've handled have been perfectly acceptable and the price certainly can't be beat. One thing I am hesitant about though is the DAO trigger.

Auto-Ordnance WWII 1911

I admit it, I'm a sucker for 1911's :)

The first handgun I ever shot was a pitted, corroded, slab sided peice of 60 year-old GI crap, that shot like an absolute dream. 1911s just seem to fit right in my hand like John Browning had me in mind when he designed them. They're well laid out, solid, and exceptionally pointable. I've shot maybe a dozen or so handguns in the intervening time, but never with better results or more fun than I had with that first 1911, or a subsequent Kimber I had the pleasure to try out.