PDA

View Full Version : Clean & Lub with what?

pistolpete
May 3, 2005, 10:45 AM
Just wondering, what you guys use to clean and lub you semiautos with? I use hoppie 9 or Butch's to clean, then (some of you may think this is wrong, or funny) I use the same oil I put in my car to lub them(Amsoil 5w-30). Anyone do the same? Reasons not to do this? It seems to work fine. I have been doing it like this for ten years now.
Thanks, Pete

BillCnKC
May 3, 2005, 10:58 AM
pistolpete--

I use Mil-Comm TW-25B grease and Mil-Comm MC-2500 oil on my fifty caliber Desert Eagle and my Bushmaster Carbon 15 Type 97S Pistol. (Mil-Comm: Mil-Comm (http://www.milcomm.com/))

I use Eezox on my Colt M1991A1 .45, my two High Standard HD-Military pistols, and my old S&W Model 59 9mm. Eezox is phenomenal stuff. If they still have their "preservation" pictures up, be sure to look at them. (Eezox: Eezox (http://www.eezox.com/))

I use some kinda gun oil that came with a cleaning kit on my various other handguns.

--seal killer

Old Prussian
May 3, 2005, 11:23 AM
Break Free all the way!
Bore Cleaner, Powder Blaster and CLP

gudel
May 3, 2005, 11:28 AM
Break Free CLP and Sweets 7.62 for copper.

BUSTER51
May 3, 2005, 11:29 AM
Fp10

Trapp
May 3, 2005, 11:38 AM
Hoppes # 9 and wd-40 with a toothbrush to clean. WD-40 to lube........

Mark54g
May 3, 2005, 11:57 AM
be careful. WD-40 is less lubricant and more solvent. You might want something a bit slipperier

918sgt
May 3, 2005, 12:00 PM
WD 40 is a parrafin based lubricant and will, after time, tend to lock up parts when a gun is stored. Use M-Pro7 products for cleaning and lube. No problem---reliable.

Bullrock
May 3, 2005, 12:19 PM
I use soap and water to clean with a firm toothbrush. Lube with good old petroleum jelly...

signal4l
May 3, 2005, 12:23 PM