PDA

View Full Version : To lubricate or not?

Metal Head
April 23, 2005, 07:56 PM
Like I said in another thread, I bought my first semi-auto handgun yesterday. I was talking to a cop friend who also loads his own shells. He said "you don't lubricate a semi-auto, it's ment to use dry". Is this true. being a diesel mechanic I just can't understand moving parts with no lube. :confused:

gudel
April 23, 2005, 08:03 PM
just because he's a cop, doesn't mean he knows everything about guns.

read the manual that comes with your P90. it tells you to lube it. I know it does on my P95 manual.

wouldn't want to buy a gun used by that guy.

JohnKSa
April 23, 2005, 08:11 PM
I know of no firearms that are intended to be operated without any lubrication at all.

Follow the directions in your manual.

Metal Head
April 23, 2005, 08:12 PM
The manual say to lube it. :rolleyes:

Hawken1911
April 23, 2005, 08:14 PM
He is completely wrong. I've owned many semi-autos, and the manual of every single one said to lube it after cleaning. In fact, most manuals showed specific points on the gun where a drop of oil should be applied. Some guns have a reputation for needing to be well lubed to function reliably. I personally use G96, which is an aerosol cleaner and lubricant combination, on all my guns. Keep them lubed!

Alaskanmonte
April 23, 2005, 08:52 PM
LUBE YOUR GUN ! Do not listen to him, cop or not, you need to lube your guns.

mete
April 23, 2005, 10:06 PM
You're instincts are correct - ALWAYS lube moving parts ! I wonder how many FTF s that cop has .

Majic
April 23, 2005, 10:09 PM
Some LEOs do absolutely no maintenance on their firearms. They just hand it over to the armourer and let them do it. Even the polymer models need lube. If he doesn't lube his pistol I would also stand clear as he shoots his reloads.

perception
April 24, 2005, 12:53 AM
Yeah, i believe my sig has been described as a "wet" gun actually, a well lubed gun is a happy gun as far as i'm concerned.

Topthis