PDA

View Full Version : carbines in california...

Mr.V.
April 18, 2005, 02:37 AM
Hi,

I'd like to apologize in advance for all the questions.
I'm new to firearms and don't really own one yet, but I was thinking about buying a carbine. I fired a Ruger 9mm carbine today and it was fun. I was really accurate with it just like my crosman pellet gun I shot a lot as a kid. I'm pitiful with a handgun though =)

Anyway, I searched through the forums and found a few topics related to this, but nothing definitive. Anyways, I'd like to learn more about the semi-automatic carbines in pistol ammo (I don't think I need a "high power" round like the .223 or 7.62mm x 51mm rounds). However, internet searches always lead me to the .30cal M1 carbine, or the colt m4 or something.

Anyways, I was wondering if a 9mm Ruger carbine is a good gun to buy. Reading the forums, a 9mm bullet seems to be defined as a bullet for "ladies and pansies". I try not to be either =)

However, the only .45 caliber carbine I can find is a beretta, the Cx4 Storm. Unfortunately, it has a pistol grip, which I think means it's illegal in california. Unless, since it fires a .45 ACP round, it's okay? (I don't really know all the details in the assault weapon ban in california).
The beretta site is here:
http://www.berettausa.com/product/rifles/series_page.cfm?currentseries=18
does anyone know if this gun is okay in california?

Also I was wondering if the .40 S&W caliber Ruger carbine would be better? It doesn't seem to have a pistol grip.
Here's the site...
http://www.ruger.com/Firearms/FAProdResults?function=famid&famid=20

And finally, are there other semi-automatic pistol-ammo style carbines that you guys know of? Manufacturers etc. The only other carbine I've heard of in my searches is this Marlin camp .45 but I cannot seem to find it.

Thanks for your help!

utaherrn
April 18, 2005, 04:34 AM