PDA

View Full Version : .303 for whitetail deer?

John G
November 10, 1999, 10:42 AM
I'm gonna try to take my Lee-Enfield #1* in .303 deer hunting this year. There's not that many rifle areas in NY, so I've never done this before. What's a good ammo choice? I'm guessing my FMJ will go right through.

Long Path
November 10, 1999, 08:55 PM
Remington 180 g Round Nosed Soft Point is excellent. I personally have grouped this stuff inside of 2" at 100 yards with a dark-bore SMLE that had stock trouble in the worst way. (I.E., this was as good as it got for that rifle! ;))

It's not even that expensive-- say, about $15/box. Don't be thrown by the fact it's round nose-- that won't make a difference in the drop at the ranges you'll be shooting, anyway (<200yds). Also, there is good evidence that round noses "hit harder", inasmuch as they needn't expand much at all to give you full caliber facial area.

Winchester also used to make a good SP load, but I've had better accuracy from the SPRN Remington. Its MV, if memory serves, is about 2400fps. More than adequate for any deer that ever walked, out to ranges far beyond whats sporting. Good luck!

M.G.

------------------
Will you, too, be one who stands in the gap?

Matt

Rocky Road
November 11, 1999, 06:37 PM
John G---

I second all Long Path wrote as regards the ammo. Dunno know why but my two Enfields and a couple more I know of all like the 180 RNSP, and don't seem to care too much about what brand.

When I worked up my handload, I went with the Sierra 180 spitzer SP, to do the best I could to duplicate trajectory of the Mk VII ball military ammo--This to kinda match it up to the micrometer adjustable rear sight on my No. 4 Mk. 1 rifle. I have not been able to shoot it beyond 300 yards yet, but that's kinda academic, as I wouldn't shoot a game animal that far, even with the good peep sights.

Again agreeing with LP, I don't think most of us have any business shooting game beyond 200 yards with open signts.