PDA

View Full Version : Bore snake and Otis cleaning kits. Do they really work?

Sling Shot
November 6, 2000, 09:45 AM
Just like the title says. I plan on purchasing a couple of Ruger 10/22's for my two oldest boys Christmas presents. I like to keep a barrel clean on any firearm that I own. The 10/22 has to be cleaned from the muzzle end unless a hole is drilled to accomodate cleaning with a rod from the breech. I prefer not to have a hole drilled, so I am stuck with cleaning from the muzzle with a rod, or using a bore snake or a Otis cleaning kit. Sling Shot

Dave McMillan
November 6, 2000, 11:05 AM
I've been using the Otis kit for several years now. Sometimes I start to use a rod, but the Otis kit is so much easier, I always seem to end up using it. There's no way to reverse a brush inside the bore (a no-no), and you can clear semi-autos, lever actions and bolt actions all from the breech to the muzzle (the preferred method, though typically not practical on some types).

It comes with special slotted patches that are multi-use, but you can use standard patches with the slotted tip.

I use a bore snake at the start of cleaning to get the most junk out prior to final cleaning with the Otis kit. I soak the bore with a solvent patch first, pull the snake through a few times, then final clean and oil with the Otis kit.

As you can tell, I'm a fan.

Dave

Dave R
November 6, 2000, 01:05 PM
I use a bore snake exclusively for cleaning the bore of my 10/22 (also my Marlin Model 60). Very convenient, and seems to do a real good job. I recommend it.

Herodotus
November 6, 2000, 09:29 PM
Yes, bore snakes really work.
There has been a lot of discussion on them in the past on this board. To summarize briefly and uncomprehensively, the majority use them at the range/in the field to clean bores that are fouling, then use regular cleaning equipment at home. There are some that don't like them and some that use them exclusively.

blades67
November 6, 2000, 11:41 PM