PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone wish they would have gottent the A3 instead of the A2 or the other way ar

NYCOP
December 5, 2002, 01:51 AM
I was wondering if you wish you would have the A3 instead of the A2 or the other way around?

DougB
December 5, 2002, 03:38 AM
I have a Bushmaster Dissipator A2 (fixed cary handle). I like it a lot, but I do wish it were an A3 (flattop) - it would just be a little more versatile. I doubt I'll buy any more carry handle uppers. You can always use a detachable carry handle if you want, but I think most would just get a folding rear sight that attached to the flattop - that makes it easy to use the optic of your choice.

Doug

Rob01
December 5, 2002, 06:53 AM
My preban Bushmaster Shorty had the A1 carrying handle/sights and I always hated it. I bought it like that because it was cheaper at the time and money was tight. Finally last year I bought a Bushmaster flat top upper receiver for $125 at Kiesler's and had my A1 changed to a flat top which I like much better as it now wears an ARMS Swan sleeve with flip up iron sight and an Aimpoint ML2. it only cost $25 for the local guy to swap my barrel over to the flat top so for the total of $150 I got the rifle I want. Actually it's only $70 out of pocket because I sold the old A1 upper for $80. I'd say it was worth it.

Bartholomew Roberts
December 5, 2002, 08:48 AM
The first .22 I ever had as a kid came with the cheapest most good for nothing Tasco 4x scope. It wouldn't hold zero for anything. I finally yanked it off and found I was much better with iron sights. My distaste for optics continued for quite awhile.

When I bought my AR I thought "Who need optics on a rifle like this?" I bought the A2 because although flattops were available at the time, they were still rare and I wasn't going to mount a giant scope and go varmint hunting anyway.