PDA

View Full Version : Hunting With A Revolver

PALongbow
November 26, 2002, 07:53 PM
Well our PA rifle season is the Monday after Thanksgivining and I'm headed into the woods this year with my revolver in seach of a buck or a doe. Its my first year hunting with a revolver and after a long summer practicing with my SRH revolver I believe that I'm ready to go.

A question for you seasoned handgun hunters that have taken deer. When a deer approaches is there any bit of advise that you could offer other than just pull the trigger and shoot?

Ron

KilgorII
November 26, 2002, 09:25 PM
Aim :D

ViLLain
November 26, 2002, 09:48 PM
Key to a successful handgun hunt is to commit to the method of harvest, trust what you got and be patient. Don't take both a rifle and handgun. You're either handgun hunting or you are not.

Southla1
November 26, 2002, 10:31 PM
Stay calm, Sight alignment, and trigger squeeze. Do not get rattled and not aim or jerk the trigger.

labgrade
November 26, 2002, 11:09 PM
If you shoot single action, the cocking mechanism can make some noise spooking the deer at the closer handgun ranges.

Try to to jam that hammer back, take your time (only takes an added second or so) & silently as possible, cock that hammer.

Aiming is good too.

Rmouleart
November 27, 2002, 10:24 AM