PDA

View Full Version : Confused about 1911s

marca
October 31, 2002, 11:39 PM
A few days ago I was looking at some compact 1911s at a local gun shop. I'm new to 1911s. Asked the sales guy exactly how you lower the hammer when there's a round chambered; in other words how do you un-cock a 1911. The guy told me you just gently lower the hammer while holding the trigger down, just like a revolver. Now, as I said I'm new to 1911s but it seems to me you run quite a risk of the gun going BANG if the hammer slips while lowering it. Also makes sense that that if the lowered hammer would take any type of impact, such as dropping the gun, there's a chance of an AD. Am I correct about this? So, how do you decock a 1911?

BLiTzNicK
October 31, 2002, 11:41 PM
So, how do you decock a 1911?

You don't!;)

railroader
October 31, 2002, 11:56 PM
!911's are single action and are normally carried cocked with the safety on. Most people don't lower the hammer down on a live round. If you try and recock the hammer in a hurry it could slip. If you want to unload it, drop the mag, then rack the slide ejecting the round. Now check the chamber to make sure it is empty now you can drop the hammer, pointing the gun in a safe direction. If you don't like cocked and locked you can also keep a loaded mag in the pistol and rack the slide as needed. Decocking normally is refering to double action autos. Mark

Zundfolge
November 1, 2002, 12:03 AM
If you decock a revolver and you slip it goes BANG! (which is bad enough).

If you decock a 1911 and you slip it goes BANG! and breaks your thumb. :eek:

krept
November 1, 2002, 12:08 AM
so I could be wrong.

I think I can elaborate a little. Not to insult your intelligence, but in case another reader doesn't understand...