PDA

View Full Version : Howa 1500 .308 Anybody have an opinion on these?

Mesa
January 31, 2000, 08:54 AM
I'm basically new to high powered rifles. (Been shooting .22's and shotguns all my life though). After talking to numerous gunsmiths and long range shooters I decided on a Howa Lightning Tactical in .308. Anybody have an opinion on this rifle?

wildcat
January 31, 2000, 01:53 PM
I have a Howa 1500 chambered for 30-06. I purchased the rifle about 5 years ago.My son purchased a Remington 700 the same year both were new guns.My Howa has always outperformed my sons Remington.I can shoot a box of ammo off sand bags and have all twenty in a 4 inch circle with a hot barrel. If I shoot 3 shots slow fire with a cool barrel I can put them all in a 1.5 inch circle at 100 Yds.I see no reason that a .308 should not do as well.One of my hunting friends Has 3 Howa rifles and loves them all.

------------------
Fear a government that fears your guns

Mesa
January 31, 2000, 03:35 PM
What did you scope it with by chance? I'm strictly paper punching at about 200-300 yards, but I intend on eventually getting out to 500 - 1000 yards. Right now I have a Tasco World Class that I despise. It's all I have to put on it right now.

Paul B.
February 1, 2000, 12:39 AM
Mesa. Look at the Weatherby Vanguard. It is made by Howa for Weatherby.
Paul B.

[This message has been edited by Paul B. (edited February 01, 2000).]

wildcat
February 1, 2000, 05:58 AM
My Howa is scoped with a simmonds atec 2.8-10 this is a fine scope for hunting but I am sure there are better choices for 1000 yd shooting.I am also sure someone else is better qualified than I to help you make that choice.

yorec
February 2, 2000, 04:11 PM
Mesa,