PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with me?

WizeGuy_
August 13, 2002, 07:59 AM
What is wrong with me guys? I do not like 1911's. At first I thought it was because I had only handled low end 1911's but yesterday I got to shoot a $1000 kimber. For some reason they feel clunky in my hand? Is this because I am not experienced with 1911's? I know they are fine handguns but I just don't like the way they feel or shoot. Anybody else feel this way or am I on my own?

johnwill
August 13, 2002, 08:03 AM
If you don't like 1911's, you are obviously a very sick boy! :D:D

Seriously, while the 1911 is one of my favorite handguns, it's really not for everyone, I know a number of people that are very ambivalent about the 1911, I have no problem with that. I'm somewhat ambivalent about revolvers, just the way I am. I doubt you'll need extensive therapy, but maybe a range session or two with the 1911 will cure you. :)

9x19
August 13, 2002, 09:25 AM
Thru most of the 80s, I was a 1911-a-holic, then I bought a Glock on a whim and went the other way.

After years of shooting only Glocks, my wife gave me two Springifeld 1911A1s for my 25th Wedding anniversary present.

Man did they feel clunky! Nine months later and a few thousand rounds down range... man do they feel clunky! :p

To me, Glocks are svelte, but the 1911 and I do get along, and the clunky feeling diminishes alot over time.

Onslaught
August 13, 2002, 09:46 AM
What is wrong with me guys?
Doh! Open ended line of responses... :eek:
You're ugly and your mother dresses you funny? :D

Kidding... Whatever it is, it's going around. Although I do truely think the 1911 is one of the finest works of art to ever chunk lead, I just don't feel comfortable shooting one.