PDA

View Full Version : 45-70 Choices

HarryB
July 7, 1999, 12:45 AM
I've decided I want a 45-70. Why? Why not!

I would use it for hunting and informal shooting. I was considering the Marlin Guide Gun because I had heard so much positive about it but I was was thinking...

Does the short barrel cause a significant change in performance? Would the 1895SS be a better choice?

Will the porting make it significantly louder requiring hearing protection while hunting?

How about the Ruger single shot?

Why do people consider the 45-70 a short range cartridge but those with Sharps consider it a long range round?

I love the Sharps and the 1886's but I am a teacher with three kids... In fact I will probably looking to trade a SW 629 and a Mossberg 500 towards this purchase.

As usual, your great feedback I've come to expect is highly appreciated.

freefinkelmann
July 7, 1999, 08:46 AM
HarryB,

Keep the 629 and the mossberg and pick up a NEF handi-rifle in .45-70. They are going for a bit over $200 NIB and shoot great. Don't get me wrong I wish I had a Sharps or a Ruger #1 but for the bang for the buck you can't go wrong with the Handi-rifle.

My 2 cents.

------------------
lasciate ogni speranza, voi ch'entrate

Keith Rogan
July 7, 1999, 09:23 AM
I've owned a variety of 45/70's including the Sharps and recently a Marlin Guide gun.

The 45/70 is an excellent long range cartridge IF you are shooting on a range with marked, known distances. In the hunting field, you are looking at, realistically, a 150 yard rifle. The trajectory is like a rainbow.

I don't know where you hunt, but if you are shooting in open country, there are better choices. If you are a sportsman who wants the added challenge of getting in closer to the game you are after, then any of the rifles mentioned will serve you well. The Sharps and 1886 are the more historically correct rifles.

------------------
Keith