PDA

View Full Version : Rust pitting in rifle bore

S.F.S
July 27, 2002, 10:50 PM
I just purchased a used Ruger varmint rifle .223 with a SS heavy barrel and was cleaning it up and after I was done I noticed two very minute small pitts of what looks to be rust the only way its noticed is with a bore light otherwise you cant notice it.
Other than that the rifle is in excellent condition the rifleing is still sharp and all, not worn.
I cleaned the barrel up with Hoppe's #9 and a brass brush and left a light film of G96 gun oil in the bore.
I will be shooting it tomorrow for the first time to see how she does. (But I'm new to rifles so it will probably do better then I can right now.) :D
What do you all recommend I do or should I just leave it alone and always keep a film of oil in the barrel when not in use, to prevent it from getting worse?

Thanks..
Scott

S.F.S
July 28, 2002, 06:59 AM
There is no rust just 2 very small pitts near the muzzle.
What should I do?

goosegunner
July 28, 2002, 07:49 AM
My mauser have 2 or 3 marks similar to those you tell about, and I just leave them alone. They have no noticeable effect on my guns performance. (But I don't shoot that good, anyway the rifle shoots better than me). When I first spotted it I consulted a gunsmith, and he told me not to bother.

If the pittings are close to the mussle you could ask a gunsmith to cut off a few inches of your barrel.

Art Eatman
July 28, 2002, 09:50 AM
At this stage of your learning curve, I wouldn't give it another moment's thought. Just do a bit of normal cleaning after you're done shooting. The proverbial thin film of oil will be adequate against rust...

Is your rifle based on the 77 Mk II action? Is the trigger adjustable, or fixed? The fixed trigger is too stiff "as is"; mine was also sorta draggy. I replaced it with a Timney.

If you don't get groups inside an inch--and it oughta shoot inside 1/2" at 100 yards--you might do some "Search" here about bedding the forearm.