PDA

View Full Version : DA vs SA

yukon999
June 28, 2002, 04:30 PM
I am fairly new to the handgun community and I wanted to know what the advantages/disadvantages are to them. Also what are the advantages/disadvantages to having or not having a decocker.

Thanx in advance

Yukon

CP220
June 28, 2002, 04:56 PM
It is all a matter of preference really.

Most single action users are very good at swiping their safety on their pistol while they are clearing leather. By the time their pistol is on the target, they are ready to fire.

With double action, the decocker works to keep the round in the chamber but without the chance of an AD. For example, my SIG has no safety, so I decock it and holster it. When I draw, I fire the first round double action, and there is no safety to worry about.

Try out a couple of each, and see what works best for you
:)

Bacchus
June 28, 2002, 05:04 PM
Some semiautomatic handguns are available in either DA or SA, whereas others are DA only, some have a decocker, and others are available in SA only. Your question is broad, so I'll take first stab at it.

Single Action only: similar to the 1911 style handguns that shoot SA only. The hammer is already cocked back and so doesn't have as far to travel when you squeeze the trigger. Theoretically, the trigger should be smoother in SA than DA.

Double Action only: usually longer trigger pull, some people think that SA is unsafe, but it's not as long as you follow the rules of gun safety.

A decocker takes the gun from SA mode and will lower the hammer without firing the gun--the advantage is that you can make the weapon safe with the decocking lever. Decockers are nice, especially if your weapon fires in DA and SA mode.

Blackhawk
June 28, 2002, 05:09 PM
These two threads have some interesting points in them:
http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=119079
http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=118738

the duck of death
June 28, 2002, 06:31 PM