PDA

View Full Version : Anyone tried ARS barrels for their Mini?

Remmy
June 23, 2002, 11:03 PM
Just ran across an add for Accuracy Rifle Systems replacement barrels for mini 14's and 30's, and was wondering if anyone has tried them out. They claim MOA groups... been in business for 17 years, but this is my first time hearing of them. They use a Lothar Walther German made barrel on the mini, and sell them for ~250 uninstalled w/out warranty and ~430 installed.

Horrible accuracy was the reason i sold that gun... the prices arent that great, if i wanted an accurate semi for 800 'ish, i would have gotten an AR. This just makes the mini market more interesting...

You can get your complete MOA Mini 14 for about $1000! :D

http://mini-14.net/

Jamie Young
June 23, 2002, 11:09 PM
From My understanding of the Mini 14, the heavier barrel only buys you more time with the barrel heating up. I've heard of 1.5MOA with heavier barrels but nobody has told me how long that holds up.

Jim Watson
June 24, 2002, 08:37 AM
I have an ARS Mini 14 with heavy barrel and trigger job. I did not have it glass bedded It will shoot about 1.1 MOA with good ammo.
When I had mine rebarreled they were using Olympic blanks. I would expect the Lothar Walther they are using now to do even better.

Art Eatman
June 24, 2002, 08:43 AM
Jim, if you had it to do over, would you consider an "ARS-ized" Mini to be cost effective?

I've always been happy with a "tin can and coyote" gun of two MOA, but I'm not sure I'd want to spend a bunch more money on it...

Just curious,

Art

Duke of Lawnchair
June 24, 2002, 02:30 PM
I've handled and seen the results of an ARS'd mini14 ranch rifle @ the local range about a year and a half ago. The worksmanship looked to be pretty good. With the owner's handloads, he was able to produce ~1.5" groups of five @ 100 yds. Bench rested on a nice calm sunny day.