PDA

View Full Version : Long range varmint rifle...

Redneck2
May 28, 2002, 06:02 AM
Want to go on a PD hunt sometime, probably next summer. Looking for a long (as in 600-1,000 yard) rifle.

I have a .223, 22-250, and 25-06., and 300 Win Mag. The 250 is a Remington VS and I haven't checked, but I doubt the twist is fast enough for the new high SD bullets (87 gr), etc.

The 25-06 would seem ideal. It has a custom barrel and it's heavy for caliber, but there don't seem to be any real high SD bullets for the .25. The WM would work, but it's fairly light and I'm thinkin' it would get old quick off a bench.

I'd rather stay away from custom rifles if possible, or at least away from wildcat calibers. I was thinking maybe a 6 mm Remington, but then again I understand they tend to be hard on barrels, to the tune of maybe 2,000 rounds before the accuracy goes away. My local dealer has a Styer in .308. I have zero experience but I understand they're supposed to be quite good. I can get it less than dealer cost (NIB),

I'd rather stay 6.5 or less due to recoil, and the fact that I probably won't connect on the first shot (OK, maybe on the first 30 or 40).

so, is there a factory rifle that will fill the bill??? The guys I'm going with each use 6.5-06's with 8x32 scopes, and all three have confirmed 1,000 yard hits. Any thoughts from experienced long range shooters appreciated.

Art Eatman
May 28, 2002, 08:43 AM
If you re-barrelled the .25-06 to the 6.5-'06, you could use your buddies' loading data...You'd still have the same capabilities that you now use it for.

Art

stinger
May 28, 2002, 09:27 AM
600-1000 yard shots on PD's (I assume that is prarie dogs and not police departments :eek: )

Are those creatures just too darn vicious to maybe sneak up a few hundred more yards??? :D

Stinger

Jeeper
May 28, 2002, 11:31 AM