PDA

View Full Version : Police Shotguns?

CarbineKid
April 27, 2002, 12:43 PM
Hi guys. Im totally new to the shot gun sceen. Im doing alot of research on them, and yes I have used the search option on TFL:) anyhow it seems alot of people recomend the Remington 870 police, but I can not find any info anywhere on it..including their own website. So are police shotguns now banned, like the evil pre ban AR's? :confused: OR are they just not advertised?
Thanks
Brian
Now that I think about it bretta's 1201 isn't on their web site either...hmmmm

Badger Arms
April 27, 2002, 01:45 PM
Try http://www.remingtonle.com/ for information on Law Enforcement models. While they don't sell directly to the public, most retailers will sell to any qualified individual. Usually, you have to find a retailer who caters to the LE community.

You can also try looking for an LE Trade-In. www.auctionarms.com had one yesterday when I checked. I already bought mine though. It's an older Remington 870 Express gun. The Police model is a parkerized version of their wingmaster that is finished a bit better than the Express IMO.

Dave McC
April 27, 2002, 05:23 PM
I'll get cussed out for saying this, but a hunch of mine is looking more plausible all the time. I think stashing has started.People buying several 870s and sitting on them.That's why they're getting scarce at gun shows and in shops.

I would if I could, planning on getting a beater for parts or backup. I may start with a stripped receiver and build up as I can. Might run across a trap bbl, or a Remchoked one and go on from there.

IMO, now's a good time to pick up a few 870s.With QC at Big Green being questionable, a good older model makes lot of sense. Even a 2 3/4 inch receiver and bbl give lots of uses,wherever you need to take an 870. They aren't going to get cheaper or more common.