PDA

View Full Version : Help a beginner with slug gun

moorerwc
June 21, 2000, 07:06 PM
Been shopping around for a 12 ga. with interchangeable barrels--It would be primarily for HD but I'm interested in learning to hunt. I am a rank beginner with longarms.
I've pretty much decided on the Mossberg 500.
My main question is what type of slug barrel do ya'll recommend? My first instinct is to go with one of the barrels with the integral scope mount, so I can change configurations quickly.
How well do these mounts work?
Will I need to have the raised comb stock to sight properly?
Is there a cheap slip over cheekpiece available somewhere that would substitute for the dualcomb stock?
I heard somewhere that with the integral mount one can use a standard scope instead of a longer eye relief "shotgun" scope; is this true?
Do anyone have some suggestions for reasonably priced scopes? (a website where I can compare several?)

Also, can anyone relate information or experiences with a sidesaddle warping the mossberg receiver as opposed to the remington (this is the only issue that has me doubting my choice of brands)?
Thanks all for your help,
Chad

Jeff, CA
June 21, 2000, 08:24 PM
I can't help you with the other issues, but don't put a sidesaddle on a Mossberg 500. The crossbolt for the sidesaddle is steel, so it's harder than the aluminum of the receiver. Recoil will eventually cause the crossbolt to elongate the hole. Keeping the sidesaddle loaded will accelerate the process. You can't just keep tightening it, either, because that will pinch the sides of the receiver together. Either use a butt cuff or go with an 870 with its steel receiver. Good luck.

Dave McC
June 21, 2000, 09:07 PM
First, I've done lots of slug hunting and taken plenty of deer with them, but few with scopes and none with Mossberg pumps,so this might not be what you're looking for.