PDA

View Full Version : Turkey Choke Tubes

j-heart
April 21, 2002, 08:39 AM
I purchased a Remington 870 Super Mag Turkey Shotgun at Bass Pro Shop a couple of weeks ago. I've taken it out for some patterning and at 40 yards that pattern is large. I'm new to this so bear with me, but are there higher quality turkey hunting choke tubes than the one that came with the gun that will give me a tighter pattern, or are they all the turkey hunting choke tubes basicly the same?

Art Eatman
April 21, 2002, 08:54 AM
No biggie, but I think maybe "tighter" is the better description than "higher quality". :)

From reading in the gunrags, the Turkey Choke holds a good bit tighter pattern than Full Choke. The Bass Pro Shop should have information on 1) the diameter of the tube, and 2) the proper size of the pattern at 20 or 30 yards.

It's possible that somewhere along the way somebody put the wrong choke tube in your gun. In today's world it's possible your tube might be mislabeled and not be Turkey Choke--which is why knowing the diameter is important.

Maybe somebody here can give you the specifics.

Best luck,

Art

labgrade
April 22, 2002, 10:11 AM
First, as Art mentioned, check to see what choke you have & what you're supposed to have. I got a Turkey Express Rem 870 a while back & it comes (& came) with an Extra Full Turkey choke.
Unscrew your choke & it'll say what it is on the side.

Too, depends a lot on the load you shoot. Some loads shoot tighter than others, & it matters from one shotgun to another.

Once you're good to go on the right choke, by a few 10-packs of heavy loads (shot amount = 1-1/2 oz on up) in #4, 5 & 6 shot size & start patterning on paper. Only way to be sure ....

I prefer Fed's Premium 2oz #4 - for my set-up. Yours will likely be different.

& too, some get just too serious about turkeys. Many, many folk get their bird every year with 2-3/4" chambered shotguns & whateverold thing's on the shelf ....

Bill Junior
April 23, 2002, 02:02 PM