The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old May 8, 2001, 02:21 AM   #1
Kwyjibo

I tried using the search feature on the forum to figure this one out, but I got like 8000 results....

So here are my questions.

What is the difference between Caliber and MM?

How are the values calculated?

Why are there 2 different ways to measue a bullets size??

Thanks,
Raffi
Old May 8, 2001, 03:10 AM   #2
PaladinVC

I'm no expert, but...

There's really no important distinction between them. Both are the diameter of the bullet. More specifically, the diameter of the slug and the barrel it's fired from. The metric ones are easy enough to figure out. A 9mm is 9mm across, 10mm is 10, 7.62mm is 7.62mm in diameter. With the English measures, it's done in parts of an inch. .38 is 38 hundredths of an inch in diameter, while a .45 is 45/100 and .357 is 357/1000, making it about the same size as a .38.

In fact, a .357 and a .38 are either identical or very, very close, since a .357 can usually fire .38 rounds. Same thing with the .308 and the 7.62mm rounds. I think. I remember reading someplace that the English measurements are pretty inaccurate. The .44 is something like .425 in reality, and the .38 is closer to .357, when you put some calipers on it. I'm sure there's someone out there better equipped to answer this question, and maybe provide a link to some more thorough information.
Old May 8, 2001, 03:20 AM   #3
PreserveFreedom

Yes, caliber is the english system and mm is metric. As for some bullet diameters being slightly smaller than their names, I think (but don't quote me) that some of the onlder rounds were gauged by case width instead of projectile. I could be wrong, and if I am, please correct me.

Old May 8, 2001, 05:14 AM   #4
Apple a Day

You can convert back and forth by multiplying/dividing by 25.4
9mm/25.4=.355caliber
.30inches(25.4)=7.62mm

Old May 8, 2001, 06:51 AM   #5
Bud Helms
Staff