The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 18, 2001, 08:04 AM   #1
Patrick Graham

Last year I started shooting IPSC/USPSA. Before then I never sorted my 45 ACP brass, I would just toss it all in the tumbler, clean it, reload it and live with the occasional jam. Jams in a match are costly so now I'm getting fussy, perhaps too fussy. Here's my brass sorting process.

1. Sort to .897" max length (new Starline brass is .895" and reloading books max length is .898")
2. Discard any brass thinner than .008" at the case mouth.
3. Discard any badly "buggered" bases.
4. Discard any brass that has been used so much I can no longer read the head stamp.
3. File out any extractor dings from the head of "unfinished" extractors. (Someone out there has a home made 1911 with a new extractor that needs the finishing touches put on it.)

Does anyone have anything I can add to this list?
Old March 18, 2001, 02:03 PM   #2
Johnny Guest
Moderator Emeritus

Patrick--

Looks as if you're already doing a lot more sorting than I do--And you are either a candidate for a bad case of eye strain or must have a good magnifier.

Not having to do with brass sorting, but to avoid stoppages at inopportune moments---
Guage each of your match loads. Midway sells loaded round guages. I just use an extra barrel and drop each round into the chamber. If the case mouth goes click against the front of the chamber, then dimensions and taper crimp are correct. If you hear a thunk, then something is wrong. May chamber and fire properly, but then again, maybe not.

Have you tried IDPA matches? Lots of fun, and have quite a bit of real-life application, if you go at it in the proper spirit.

All best,
Johnny

MOLON LABE!

Blog: Expert Witness
Old March 18, 2001, 04:49 PM   #3
Patrick Graham