The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 8, 2001, 09:23 PM   #1
colorado

Anyone loading Rainier bullets? I'm thinking of loading their 230 g. FMJ, 230 g. JHP and 250 g. FP in my 45 auto? Pros and Cons? Thanks...
Old February 9, 2001, 09:30 AM   #2
LIProgun

I've been using them now for several years in those calibers where I don't want to use, or can't find, cast lead bullets. The early Ranier plated bullets were cosmetically awful (pockmarked) and gave me horrible accuracy.

The more recent genesis ("Restrike") are virtually indistinguishable from many other plated or jacketed bullets, and I am very pleased with them.

About the only thing I'll note is that some of the bullets you'd expect to have a cannelure (e.g., .357" 125 grain FP) don't have a cannelure. So I taper crimp these in .357 Magnum loads instead of roll crimping. For autopistol loads it is not an issue.

- Leonidas of Sparta, 480 B.C.
Old February 9, 2001, 09:49 AM   #3
tonyz

I Agree with LIProgun.

I have used there bullets for a couple years. Now that they are ("Restriked") IMO they are one of the best. Berrys also makes a very good bullet at a Cheaper cost.

Berrys URL http://www.berrysmfg.com/

Tony Z
Old February 9, 2001, 01:10 PM   #4
Calif Hunter

I have used their 200 gr HP's in my .45 Commander with very good results, and they are nice-looking bullets. I can't say the same for the .41 FP bullets...irregular crimp groove that is very shallow. This is not good at all for powders like H-110 or W-296. It seems dumb to me to make a bullet for use in a magnum handgun without a crimping groove, given the popular use of very slow powders in these calibers. But, again, the "re-strike" bullets for non-magnum calibers look and shoot very well.
Old February 9, 2001, 07:47 PM   #5
WalterGAII