The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 8, 2001, 06:29 PM   #1
Sample

I've just purchased a used BlackHawk in .45 Colt/.45 ACP. I had reloading in mind when I bought this, and immediatly bought the necessary components (dies, brass, shellholder, etc.) & selected some Hornady 250 grain XTP's to start with. I am new to pistol reloading (I do a lot of loading for various rifle cartridges), and so I did some reading before selecting a powder to use. I settled on 2400 for it's versatility & reputed accuracy.

My dilemma is this. Hornady provided be minimum & maximum loads of 19.7 grains & 20.8, respectivly. They gave this to me over the telephone & I verified it twice.

I purchased one of those "Load Maps" from Cabella's for the .45 Colt, which provides data that is collected from major bullet & powder manufacturers. The Hornady data in the book shows the MAXIMUM load to be 17.5 grains.

Hornady tells me that 20.8 grains produces 1250 fps.
My load book shows that 17.5 grains produces 1250 fps.

Can anybody think of an explanation for the large discrepancy? I told a Hornady rep. about my dilemma, and he simply advised me to "work up" to max. loads. Any insight would be much appreciated.
Old February 8, 2001, 07:57 PM   #2
Kenneth L. Walters

This is a classic example of the sorts of differences you can run into.

Lyman is famous for this partially because I seriously doubt that they have reexamined some of their loads in years, maybe decades.

What I always do is look up loads in as many places as possible. That way you can spot ones that are out in left field. That shouldn't happen, of course, but it does. Just a fact of life.