The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 5, 2014, 10:01 AM   #1
smee78
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 14, 2008
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 993
Troy M 14 chassis system

Hi everyone,

I just picked up a Troy m14 chassis system to put on my Springfield M1A, I got it for about half the price new. Any one have any time behind one of these? For all you wood and steel guys, relax I am a steel and wood guy also, but wanted to see about getting the most out of this platform and its not going to do any thing that cant be swapped back. Any imput or pictures of your M14/M1A would be great.
__________________
We know exactly where one cow with Mad-cow-disease is located, among the millions and millions of cows in America, but we haven't got a clue where thousands of illegal immigrants and terrorists are
smee78 is offline  
Old June 5, 2014, 10:14 AM   #2
SR420
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 12, 2005
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,850
I met with Steve Troy and worked with him on the prototype a bit. It's a really nice system, well suited to a DMR. They can be a little difficult to tune, and that's is one reason I prefer the SAGE EBR. Tony at LAW483.com can help you set the TROY stock up for ultimate accuracy.
__________________
facebook.com/M14EBR.US
SR420 is offline  
Old June 5, 2014, 10:19 AM   #3
smee78
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 14, 2008
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 993
SR420 thats great thanks for sharing, ya the only thing I dont like about this setup is losing my rear sight but being able to select/swap stocks and have a pistol grip will be great.
__________________
We know exactly where one cow with Mad-cow-disease is located, among the millions and millions of cows in America, but we haven't got a clue where thousands of illegal immigrants and terrorists are
smee78 is offline  
Old June 8, 2014, 08:58 AM   #4
smee78
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 14, 2008
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 993
Bueller........Bueller......anyone else? Really no one else has one of these?
__________________
We know exactly where one cow with Mad-cow-disease is located, among the millions and millions of cows in America, but we haven't got a clue where thousands of illegal immigrants and terrorists are
smee78 is offline  
Old June 13, 2014, 12:31 PM   #5
FrosSsT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 17, 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 583
I purchased the MCS chassis about a year ago for an M1A Scout I bought a while back. I got mine in FDE. I put a Magpul PRS stock, hogue pistol grip, bipod and for optics went with a Nightforce NXS F1 (I had to use either the high or extra high NF rings because the bell was hitting the top mounting rail with the medium rings). Put it all together in under an hour (dont forget to use loctite) I sent an email in over at Law483 asking on how to tweek it for the best performance and Tony called about an hour later instructing me over the phone how to tweek the screws by the M1A's trigger assembly for optimal performance. In my opinion its an amazing setup as a designated marksman rifle but too heavy to throw a red dot and foregrip on and use as an alternative to an M4.
FrosSsT is offline  
Old June 13, 2014, 07:03 PM   #6
smee78
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 14, 2008
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 993
Thanks FrosSst for sharing, I thought SR420 and I were there the only two of us out there with one of these. I plan on using mine for stand hunting and target shooting (it a full size gun) fun, I got my 18 inch FAL for running around with if I need a shorter gun.
__________________
We know exactly where one cow with Mad-cow-disease is located, among the millions and millions of cows in America, but we haven't got a clue where thousands of illegal immigrants and terrorists are
smee78 is offline  
Old June 14, 2014, 01:53 AM   #7
RX-79G
Junior member
 
Join Date: October 27, 2013
Posts: 1,139
Why convert an M1A into an AR-10ish thingy?
RX-79G is offline  
Old June 18, 2014, 11:38 AM   #8
FrosSsT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 17, 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 583
Quote:
Why convert an M1A into an AR-10ish thingy?
If I had a full size m1a in a walnut stock I would leave it as is. I had a scout squad in a synthetic stock.
FrosSsT is offline  
Old June 18, 2014, 12:02 PM   #9
smee78
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 14, 2008
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 993
I'm currently looking for a scout or a socom but haven't found one yet for the right price.
__________________
We know exactly where one cow with Mad-cow-disease is located, among the millions and millions of cows in America, but we haven't got a clue where thousands of illegal immigrants and terrorists are
smee78 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07633 seconds with 7 queries