The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old November 23, 2013, 07:11 PM   #1
Duzell

RIA 1911 tactical, anything i need to know before shooting?

well im picking up a 1911 Rock island armory , tactical.
just asking if there is anything i should know thats different from a normal 1911, like say my kimber one.

~thanks
DUZ

Rock Island Armory M1911-A1 FS Tactical

current guns projects : Howa GK 1500, TM15 custom
Old November 23, 2013, 07:22 PM   #2
leadcounsel

Yes.

You should know that once you shoot it, you'll be mad that you spent twice as much on the Kimber.
2A: "A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed." US Army Combat Veteran and Paratrooper: OIF (2008, 2009, 2010) and OND (2011). Bronze Star Medal and Meritorious Service Medal recipient. NRA Lifetime Member. I'm a lawyer, but not YOUR lawyer and I have not offered you legal advice.
Old November 23, 2013, 09:50 PM   #3
cosh

+1 for the RIA. I have a Citadel which is from the same factory as the RIA. Shot at the range last summer and a gentleman who owns a Kimber shot the Citadel commenting it very similar feel to the trigger and accuracy about the same as the Kimber. Shook his head and said, "Why did I get the Kimber? Nice piece."
Old November 24, 2013, 09:53 AM   #4
10mm4ever

The FS tactical is still the best budget priced 'enhanced' 1911 out there IMO. Liked my first enough to get a second. They're solid and backed by some of the best CS in the industry.
Old November 24, 2013, 11:04 AM   #5
qwiksdraw

Your RIA has a lifetime warranty. When did you Kimber warranty expire?
Old November 24, 2013, 11:12 AM   #6
pat701

My son in-law wants one, what did you pay for it?
Old November 24, 2013, 12:16 PM   #7
Duzell