The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 19, 2013, 09:30 PM   #1
NinjasHateCommies

Overcrimped/Slamfire on M1A

Hi,

I am a beginner Reloader. Last Sunday had two instances of Slam Fire (doulble burst). Since I was in a match I shot 75 rounds single loaded by hand. This ammo I had loaded a week ago.

What I used was twice fired Remmington Brass from the original Factory Match Ammo 168 Gr. I loaded it after maticulous case preparation. i.E. Twice cleaned, Flash Hole Deburred, primer pocket uniformed, trimmed to 2.005, deburred.

I primed them with Winchester LR Primers via the RCBC strip Loader on an Ultramag Press. Primers were inspected to be all 0.006 under the case horizon.

IMR 4895 42 gr. with a Hornady 150Gr FMJ/BT with Canulure. The first time I reloaded them to OL 2.700 and crimped them right at the outside edge of the canalure.

This time was an Identical Load. 42gr., same bullet ONLY out to 2.730 which crimped in the canelure close to the bottom 1/4.

Velocities were around 2650 SD 13. I am very maticulous when I charge. I use a 10/10 scale and a Hornady Electronic just to check if endeed it was 42Gr.

After the match I cleaned and resized them and noticed that they really pushed harder then usual in the press. Further many of the primers had a lip and were quite flat...Oh,Oh. Then I looked at the cases and found 5 with clear cracks beginning to form.

My Question is has anyone had simmilar experience with crimping towards the bottom of the canalure. Perhaps overcrimping. Can Anyone explain or suggest what might be going on.

Thank You.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg OVERPRESSURE 308 m1a.jpg (185.3 KB, 124 views)
Old September 19, 2013, 09:49 PM   #2
jepp2

Have you checked the inside of the cases with a bent paperclip? This will give you indication of incipient head separation. While the bright spot seems too forward, never hurts to check.