The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old September 14, 2013, 05:18 PM   #1
Arizona Fusilier

9mm Nato

I know with the advent of the U.S. adopting the Beretta M9 way back when that 9mm Luger/9mm Parabellum was (somewhat) rebranded 9mm Nato by the military. I have always assumed all these cartridges to be identical.

Yesterday, on my weekly ammo survey, I stumbled on boxes of Federal 124gr FMJ called 9mm Nato. They sold for 16.88, two bucks cheaper than Federal 124gr labeled 9mm Luger. To the best of my recollection, I have never seen anything on the shelves labeled "9mm Nato".

What gives? Is there any technical difference within SAAAMI specs that anyone knows of? I did do a search on the forum, with one opinion suggesting it is really a +P round, but I would like to hear from others.
Old September 14, 2013, 05:36 PM   #2
ClydeFrog

Winchester Ranger T/FMJ 124gr 9mmNATO...

Im also a US military veteran & toted a M9 with 124gr FMJ 9mmNATO rounds in the early 1990s.
Im not a ballistics expert or a regular on Janes Defense Weekly, but I think the 9mmNATO is a regular 9x19mm round designed at a higher CUP(pressure limit) to meet the specs of most NATO member military forces(UK, Canada, Italy, Spain, USA, etc).
There is a slight difference between a 9mm(9x19mm) & a 9mmNATO but most modern firearms(SIGs, Glocks, Kahrs, Rugers, Berettas, S&W, etc) can safely fire both types.

In 2011, I got a box of Winchester 9mmNATO 124gr FMJ to use with my M&P 9mm full size. Winchester calls the FMJ Ranger T load 9mmNATO too.
Old September 14, 2013, 05:43 PM   #3
James K
Staff