The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 12, 2001, 03:30 PM   #1
SharpCdn

I've been reloading for a couple years now, but I always end up in the same boat when it comes to crimping. Right now all I reload is 38/357. I am using a dillon 650. I like to experiment with different bullet types/weights a lot. However, I never know if the crimp I am putting on the bullet is identical to the last time I had set up for that same bullet.

I am wondering if there is a known method for obtaining a consistent crimp after changing your dies back and forth for various types of bullets/calibres.

Is there a way to quantify an amount of crimp pressure?
Old January 12, 2001, 05:31 PM   #2
Bud Helms

You could measure from the top of the die to the top of the tool holder and adjust it to a premeasured height.
Old January 12, 2001, 09:45 PM   #3
char923

On my 550 I use two sets of die, each on it's own tool head, one setup for 38 special and the other setup for .357 Mag. That the nice thing about Dillon press after you get your die setup you dont have to mess with them, just swap tool heads and powder measure.
Old January 12, 2001, 10:38 PM   #4
ViKing

I use a RockThrower single stage press, and this works for me: