The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 13, 2013, 04:01 PM   #1
TLeo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 18, 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 229
Aimpoint PRO

Okay, I just ordered this sight to mount on my M4 ar-15 so my question is this....anybody here also using one and any tips how best to co witness with BUIS for rear and fixed sights?

Last edited by TLeo; August 13, 2013 at 05:05 PM. Reason: deleted one part...found answer
TLeo is offline  
Old August 13, 2013, 05:57 PM   #2
Dr Big Bird PhD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 26, 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 778
Pretty sure it is a 1/3rd cowitness with a standard mount. Shouldn't be hard to do if you have flip-ups
__________________
I told the new me,
"Meet me at the bus station and hold a sign that reads: 'Today is the first day of the rest of your life.'"
But the old me met me with a sign that read: "Welcome back."
Who you are is not a function of where you are. -Off Minor
Dr Big Bird PhD is offline  
Old August 13, 2013, 06:02 PM   #3
Theohazard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 19, 2012
Location: Western WA
Posts: 2,264
I have a PRO and I love it; it's a great sight at a great price. I mounted it all the way forward on my upper receiver (but not over any part of the rail). The mount it comes with is already the exact hight for co-witnessing; just line up your iron sights and adjust the dot so it's right over the tip of the front sight and you'll be good to go until you can fine-tune the zero at the range.

I don't co-witness with my Aimpoint, though; I keep my irons flipped down. I know it's a good idea to keep your irons flipped up when you're using a red-dot or holographic sight, but I trust the strength and 30,000-hour battery life of my Aimpoint enough that I prefer the sight picture to be less cluttered.
__________________
0331: "Accuracy by volume."
Theohazard is offline  
Old August 13, 2013, 06:26 PM   #4
TLeo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 18, 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 229
Thanks, I plan to keep the flip rear sight down when using the dot for a better filed of view with both eyes open and only use the rear sight to get it zeroed. I had been wondering if I needed to sight the irons first and then the scope independently.
TLeo is offline  
Old August 13, 2013, 07:13 PM   #5
Theohazard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 19, 2012
Location: Western WA
Posts: 2,264
It doesn't really matter which ones you sight in first. But every time I've installed a red dot on a rifle I've already had the irons sighted in. So I just sight in the red dot at home using the irons and that gets me pretty close (though it's always a good idea to eventually check the zero at the range; usually it requires some minor tweaking).
__________________
0331: "Accuracy by volume."
Theohazard is offline  
Old August 14, 2013, 07:06 AM   #6
TLeo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 18, 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 229
Thanks for the information. It's likely I will go ahead and zero the iron sights (while waiting on the aimpoint to arrive) then adjust the dot at home before heading back to the range to fine tune it.
TLeo is offline  
Old August 14, 2013, 08:07 AM   #7
1DrnkMxR
Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2012
Location: CinSity,NV
Posts: 86
Good purchase on the PRO, it's a hefty well built unit that will last a long time. Remember to adjust the rear cover so when you flip it up it doesn't hit the Illumination knob and damage the clear cover.
1DrnkMxR is offline  
Old August 14, 2013, 09:21 AM   #8
TLeo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 18, 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 229
Good tip...I might not have thought of that!
TLeo is offline  
Old August 14, 2013, 09:42 AM   #9
Theohazard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 19, 2012
Location: Western WA
Posts: 2,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1DrnkMxR
Remember to adjust the rear cover so when you flip it up it doesn't hit the Illumination knob and damage the clear cover.
I adjust the covers so they flip down; this puts them flat against the top rail when they're open and gets them completely out if my field of view.
__________________
0331: "Accuracy by volume."
Theohazard is offline  
Old August 14, 2013, 10:19 AM   #10
Urban_Redneck
Member
 
Join Date: June 23, 2013
Posts: 50
Keep an eye on the factory mount.
Urban_Redneck is offline  
Old August 14, 2013, 10:21 PM   #11
Fishbed77
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 23, 2010
Posts: 2,809
Quote:
Pretty sure it is a 1/3rd cowitness with a standard mount. Shouldn't be hard to do if you have flip-ups
No. The PRO has absolute co-witness when using the included QRP2 mount with AR riser insert.

Quote:
Keep an eye on the factory mount.
Care to elaborate? In my experience, the QRP2 is an excellent quick-detach mount. It's also used with the CompM4 (new standard military close combat optic). The only downside to it is that it's a bit on the heavy side.
Fishbed77 is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 12:18 PM   #12
Theohazard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 19, 2012
Location: Western WA
Posts: 2,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urban_Redneck
Keep an eye on the factory mount.
I'm not sure what you mean here, either. Are you saying he should buy the factory mount? Because the PRO comes with the factory mount, unlike the M3 or M4.
__________________
0331: "Accuracy by volume."
Theohazard is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 12:26 PM   #13
TLeo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 18, 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 229
I was kind of wondering about that as well.
TLeo is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 12:53 PM   #14
Ridgerunner665
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 22, 2007
Location: Upper East Tennessee
Posts: 338
Re: Aimpoint PRO

Those factory mounts have been known to come loose and/or not tighten the way they should...referring to the mount with the big knob on it, which is another thing some folks don't like about them.
Ridgerunner665 is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 09:57 PM   #15
Chet Punisher
Member
 
Join Date: November 25, 2012
Posts: 81
^^^ That is the first time I read anything about that mount. I understand it is on the heavy side, but I have never heard of one coming loose. Any references?
__________________
My Blog: http://accurateshooting.blogspot.com/
Chet Punisher is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 10:02 PM   #16
Theohazard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 19, 2012
Location: Western WA
Posts: 2,264
The factory mount that came with my PRO - the one with the big self-tensioning knob - has been just fine for me.
__________________
0331: "Accuracy by volume."
Theohazard is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 10:03 PM   #17
Ridgerunner665
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 22, 2007
Location: Upper East Tennessee
Posts: 338
I have been researching an optic for my AR...I am looking at a different Aimpoint, but with the same mount...I've seen a few references to that mount not tightening enough and/or coming loose...shouldn't be hard to find if you look.

And several people ain't crazy about that big knob...I tend to agree with this.

I am getting the M4s...but not with the mount...I'll probably use a Larue mount.

Last edited by Ridgerunner665; August 15, 2013 at 10:10 PM.
Ridgerunner665 is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 10:09 PM   #18
Ridgerunner665
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 22, 2007
Location: Upper East Tennessee
Posts: 338
http://www.ar15.com/forums/t_3_18/56...ed_today_.html

http://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=99754

http://68forums.com/forums/showthrea...oint-PRO-mount
Ridgerunner665 is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 10:11 PM   #19
Fishbed77
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 23, 2010
Posts: 2,809
Quote:
Those factory mounts have been known to come loose and/or not tighten the way they should...referring to the mount with the big knob on it, which is another thing some folks don't like about them.
I'd love to see some references for this as well.

I won't disagree that the knob seems huge, but it's also a non-issue, since it sticks out no further than the side of the optic or the rifle's receiver.
Fishbed77 is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 10:12 PM   #20
Chet Punisher
Member
 
Join Date: November 25, 2012
Posts: 81
Thanks. Reading them now...
__________________
My Blog: http://accurateshooting.blogspot.com/
Chet Punisher is offline  
Old August 15, 2013, 10:21 PM   #21
Ridgerunner665
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 22, 2007
Location: Upper East Tennessee
Posts: 338
The big knob may or may not be an issue for everyone...thats true...same for the mount itself, tighten it every few shots and call it good.

But I don't want anything sticking out to get caught on anything...same reason I chose the M4s optic over the standard M4 model...the low mounted battery compartment.

My rifle will see a good bit of time on the back of a horse...riding through the hills, hollers, rivers, and creeks...you may have different uses in mind.
Ridgerunner665 is offline  
Old August 16, 2013, 09:01 AM   #22
Fishbed77
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 23, 2010
Posts: 2,809
Quote:
The big knob may or may not be an issue for everyone...thats true...same for the mount itself, tighten it every few shots and call it good
The QRP2 knob is self-torquing and limits the amount of torque you can apply. You tighten the knob until you hear a the right number of clicks (3 I think, but I can't remember off the top of my head). This gives you the proper torque to maintain zero and not damage the mount or receiver rail. Just tightening the knob every few shots isn't the answer, as there is a maximum amount you will be able to tighten the knob. If for some reason it doesn't stay tight, the mount is broken/defective and will need to be replaced.

Quote:
But I don't want anything sticking out to get caught on anything
Again, the big knob sticks out no further than the side of the optic or the rifle's receiver. There are plenty of other parts of an AR that will snag before it does.
Fishbed77 is offline  
Old August 16, 2013, 12:53 PM   #23
TLeo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 18, 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 229
sight arrived

My PRO arrived this afternoon and I have it mounted on my AR (tighten it down and then two clicks by the manual)but unfortunately I wont get to try it out until late next week most likely. After I get it zeroed and shoot a bit I will check and see if there is any looseness and report back but seems very solidly attached. Seems to be a solid well built sight and I don't think the knob is in the way but to each his own opinion.
TLeo is offline  
Old August 16, 2013, 01:23 PM   #24
Palmetto-Pride
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 31, 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,927
If you just tighten the QRP mount every so often it will be a non issue if you don't have the ability to turn the QRP knob every once in awhile then you probably shouldn't be handling a rifle in the first place......
__________________
“The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money.”

-Margaret Thatcher-
Palmetto-Pride is offline  
Old August 16, 2013, 02:43 PM   #25
globemaster3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 28, 2006
Posts: 1,218
Quote:
if you don't have the ability to turn the QRP knob every once in awhile then you probably shouldn't be handling a rifle in the first place......
As I see it, that's not the point... Murphy's Laws of Combat # whatever.... If it can go wrong, it will. The time you shouldn't be worrying about your optic mount is when you have to use it in a crisis situation.

"Yeah, I tightened it up before I shot last time, but is it loose now?" Talk about an opener to OCD...

I deployed with an M-4 last year with similar mount for the M-68 and checked the tightness 2X over 6 months. It was never loose. That was with 36 convoy ops worth of banging around in vehicles, and multiple outside the wire events with the local Afghan unit I was advising. Had I found it loose either time, I might have thought about getting a replacement.

Now, Palmetto, since I have not had time to touch a few of my rifles in a while (in fact, I've got some I have not shot since purchased new 4 months ago!), should I just send my whole lot to you...
__________________
NRA Life Member
globemaster3 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.12887 seconds with 9 queries