The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Closed Thread

Old July 4, 2013, 11:35 PM   #1
deb98126

Glock .40 and body damage

Can anyone tell me--does a .40 caliber Glock have the firing power to blow off half of a person's face? I'm a writer and one of my characters shoots a terrorist in the face with a Glock. Is the scenario factual?

Thanks!

Deb98126
Old July 4, 2013, 11:45 PM   #2
dakota.potts

Interesting question. I am not a ballistics expert, but I am going to say no.

I think what you'll see if you shoot someone in the head with a .40 is going to be a .40 caliber sized entrance hole and a somewhat larger exit hole (especially if there are hollowpoints that will expand well in that medium). You'll probably also see spiderweb type fragments as the impact would probably crack the skull. You might even see some collapsing of the skull if enough breaks, but I think that sounds a little extravagant.

It also depends where in the head. Top of the head, would be less likely, I would think. If it goes in the front and exits at the base of the skull or the dent just above it, I imagine you would see some pretty spectacular shattering.

What would take off half a person's face, I would imagine, would be a shotgun blast or a rifle maybe 7.62 or above. A 5.56 might but I see it being more like a needle and having a small wound channel.

This is all fiction of course so I hope I never have to find out.
Old July 4, 2013, 11:47 PM   #3
JohnKSa
Staff

There's nothing special about Glocks, so any handgun chambered in .40S&W that is roughly comparable in terms of barrel length would be similarly capable.