The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old June 22, 2013, 11:25 PM   #1
Wparrish

Range gear

I am new to this firearm stuff. I am looking for a little bag or case that I can use to carry my handgun to the range. Not looking to spend too much money. Just something small to carry the firearm and the mags. Cabelas has z fitted one that looks nice. Any help or advise would be appreciated.
Old June 22, 2013, 11:36 PM   #2
Bluestarlizzard

Well, doubt this will be all that helpful for you, but last time, I used my old Vera Bradley bag (guy speak translation: big purse). I found the side compartments fit a mini bottle of Hoppe's solvent on one side, and a mini can of oil on the other quiet nicely. Plus all my junk fit inside.

The point I am making, and what might actually help you is you don't really need buy a bag that some manufacture designated as a "range bag".

Look through what's stashed around the house and see what looks feasable.
Old June 22, 2013, 11:38 PM   #3
Ajtozzi

Range gear

I use this for handguns. I love it!

US PeaceKeeper Medium Range Bag (Black, Medium)
http://amzn.com/B001QDR29W
Old June 22, 2013, 11:45 PM   #4
SgtLumpy

I use a big, old, MacGregor tennis bag. I don't like bags with a lot of small compartments for mags, ears, eyes, this and that. Just gimmie a bag with a lot of space in the big compartment, and put big pockets on all the sides and ends.

Not unlike this Midway bag that a lot of people like -
http://www.midwayusa.com/product/939...tion-range-bag

Sgt Lumpy
Old June 23, 2013, 12:47 AM   #5
Sevens

I have put ridiculous miles on a leather laptop bag. Countless range trips with this thing, and using a simple zippered handgun rug ($5-$7 each), I can (and often do) pack 5-7 handguns in a laptop bag. My range days are long, and lots of ammo comes along, so I carry that in it's own container.