The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 6, 2013, 11:44 AM   #1
msokad
Member
 
Join Date: January 17, 2013
Posts: 33
Reloading S&W 500 problem

I have been reloading since I started shooting about 20 years ago. I recently purchased a S&W 500 and because of the cost for factory ammo, I also stated reloading the 500 as well. I made my first batch using Berry's 350 grain FP, Remington LR primers and 35.0 grains of W296. The OAL was 2.10.

I shot some over the weekend, but I had a hell of a time getting 2 of the 5 cases out. When I got home, I had to use a dowel to pop out the cases. Once the cases were out, I noticed there was some unburned powder between the case and cylinder wall.

Has anyone else had a problem reloading the 500?
msokad is offline  
Old May 6, 2013, 03:28 PM   #2
ruger357w
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 13, 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 126
I no longer own my 500 S&W, but I was loading 350gr bullets with hodgdon h110 with large rifle magnum primers and I had the same problem. I ended up trading the pistol for a compound bow.
ruger357w is offline  
Old May 6, 2013, 04:14 PM   #3
g.willikers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 28, 2008
Posts: 5,406
Are you loading relatively light loads?
If so, mebbe the cases aren't expanding as they normally would with factory loads.
Does the gun do this with factory loads?
__________________
Lock the doors, they're coming in the windows.
g.willikers is offline  
Old May 6, 2013, 05:41 PM   #4
JohnMoses
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 11, 2008
Posts: 108
Your load is below the suggested minimum on Hodgons site. When H110/ Winchester 296 came out, we were warned against reducing loads because of mysterious over pressure signs.
JohnMoses is offline  
Old May 6, 2013, 06:56 PM   #5
msokad
Member
 
Join Date: January 17, 2013
Posts: 33
I found the powder amount from the latest Hornady reloading box. The bullet weight is the same, but the cannelure is in a different location so I can't seat the bullet as deep as the manual suggested.

I'm not trying for wimpy loads, but also don't want to load maximum loads. I shot 20 rounds of Hornady 500 gr bullets and hand no problem except a sore hand
msokad is offline  
Old May 7, 2013, 07:48 AM   #6
WESHOOT2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 20, 1999
Location: home on the range; Vermont (Caspian country)
Posts: 14,270
Perhaps the bullet choice is incorrect for your gun and/or application.
__________________
.
"all my ammo is mostly retired factory ammo"
WESHOOT2 is offline  
Old May 7, 2013, 09:37 AM   #7
chiefr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 27, 2010
Location: AR
Posts: 1,296
JohnMoses Your load is below the suggested minimum on Hodgons site. When H110/ Winchester 296 came out, we were warned against reducing loads because of mysterious over pressure signs.



-------------------------------------------------------------------------
+1
chiefr is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07169 seconds with 7 queries