The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old April 18, 2013, 04:18 PM   #1
breakingcontact

Which Savage rifle?

I am looking for a general purpose rifle. I'm not new to guns, but for practical purposes, I am new to bolt action rifles.

-I have a local range where I "can" shoot up to 1000 yards. Not that I plan to regularly, but the option is there and I would like something capable of accuracy at least at 500 yards.
-Additionally, I'm not an active hunter, but would like to go sometime.
-I'm not overly price sensitive, but can't go beyond $600 or so.

I am looking at the following rifles:

Savage Axis (available locally for $280)

-I know this rifle is bottom of the barrel for Savage. If it's reliable and built to be durable, I am interested in it.

Savage 110/111 (available locally with scope for $500)

-I don't recall the scope it comes with, this is from Academy Sports.
-Overall I like the feel much better than that of the Axis although I don't care for the longer barrel.

Savage Scout (available through gunbroker for $500-$600)

-I really like the idea of scout rifles, but admit I don't know if they are practical in actual use.
-I do like the iron sights for backup. Can a scope be mounted traditionally on this rifle?

Savage 10FP (available through gunbroker for $700+)

-I had one of these years ago, I enjoyed it, but didn't have a long range to shoot at.
-I like the heavy barrel, but these seem to be the most costly of all the options

Savage 11 VT (available locally through Dick's Sporting Goods for $550)

-This is the one I'm most interested in.
-It comes with a Bushnell 4-12 x 40mm scope (I believe)
-Is this rifle going to be an issue though as it's a unique model to Dick's. I don't want to run into any issues with parts not being available or interchangeable if this is an odd model.