The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 18, 2013, 10:20 AM   #1
led0321

Redding 223 dies

I had some Hornady 223 dies and didn't like them, I am looking at the redding dies, what is the opinion of TFL members?

I just want to reload for plinking
Old April 18, 2013, 10:29 AM   #2
mjes92

I recommend Dillon dies. I have loaded Thousands of .223 and have been happy with Dillon's features and customer service since day one.

Good luck.
Old April 18, 2013, 12:04 PM   #3
rg1

Redding is the best machined and polished die sets that I have. Excellent dies but also a little higher priced. I've got die sets for .223 from Hornady, RCBS, and Redding. All of them do the job with no issues.
Old April 18, 2013, 12:07 PM   #4
hammie

This is one of those questions without a hard answer, but instead with different preferences and opinions which are all equally valid.

For myself, I've been reloading for 40 years, and I have come to like redding dies best. Any new die that I buy is redding, and I've been slowly converting everything over to that brand.

My die preferences in order are: (1) Redding, (2) RCBS, (3) Hornady, (4) Lyman, and (5) Lee.

Some people don't like Lee at all, but my single Lee 7.62x54R russian die, performs just fine.

One Lee piece of equipment, that I really like is their factory crimp die. It works magic for crimping thin walled cases without crumpling or deforming the case.
Old April 18, 2013, 12:35 PM   #5
Farmland

This might sound simple but I like the dies that works. I have several brands of dies, RCBS, Hornady, Dillon etc.

On a progressive press I favor Dillon (carbide) dies for most every hand gun I load for, 380-38-357-9-40-45. The case go into the die with no problems and they work just great.

I load the 44 mag on single stage Lee press but favor the RCBS carbide die set.