The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old March 24, 2013, 07:13 PM   #1
RoosterBooster3632

SIG SAUER 516 PATOL 5.56mm

Anyone have any experience with this AR? I have a Bushmaster Carbon 15 and I was thinking of maybe selling it and purchasing this rifle. Was talking with an individual who stated they had one and that it was a really great rifle.
Old March 24, 2013, 08:19 PM   #2
BillyJack3

Are you set on moving to a piston system? It's a solid rifle and would definitely be an upgrade from the Carbon15 but there are a lot of options out there.
Old March 24, 2013, 09:18 PM   #3
Patriot86

One of my buddies at work has one and likes it. For the money IMO its better to go.to a rifle that was deaigned as a piston gun from the ground up like the SIG556 orSCAR 16.
Old March 24, 2013, 09:37 PM   #4
EdInk

I had a SIG556 it was decent but they are plagued with QC issues. Sig will fix them but not quickly. The Sig 516 in my experience is a better rifle but IMHO the whole piston AR thing is over-rated. Also, I would consider an H&K or Ruger piston upper. If it were me, I would just get a nicer DI model and be done with it. LWRC, VLtor and obviously Colt all make awesome ARs/parts.
Old March 25, 2013, 12:35 PM   #5
Patriot86

What EdInk said, an HK416 upper would be worth the money too. If you are going to go Piston then why not go all the way? If I ever get the itch I think I will be scratching it with the Hk416

The main issue as has been pointed out; just about every manufacturers Pistol system is a little different in an "AR" pattern rifle. Meaning parts can be hard to come by and if say ruger ever goes under, well I hope you have a pile o parts. Where as the classic AR-15 DI design parts are not only almost wholly interchangeable, but I wouldn't be surprised if my grand children could still find/buy AR's with the classic DI system.