The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old March 16, 2013, 11:26 PM   #1
Rem1187

Which gun for CCW: Glock 26, Sig p238, or S&W shield

Hey guys,

I am on the market for a new carry pistol as I am about to sell my Bersa thunder which I did not like due to its tendency to rub the skin raw on the knuckle of my thumb when I fired more than 2 mags at the range.

So far I have narrowed it down to the Glock 26, Sig 238, and S&W Shield 9mm.

The Shield would be my # 1 choice and seems perfect for me but is the most difficult to find.

The P238 is probably easier to find than the shield and seems like a solid choice but I dont know much about it. I assume that I will like it as the controls seem close to the 1911 platform which I have a lot of experience with.

The Glock 26 seems like it would be the easiest to buy. However, I am one of those guys who thinks the glock system of having a safety on the trigger is extremely dumb and would much rather prefer carrying a gun that had a manual safety so that I could feel more comfortable carrying with a round in the chamber. I also feel like the glock is thick and might be tougher to conceal.

I am a 155 pounds and 5,6" with smaller hands. Please let me know what your guys advice is on these guns and maybe on any other guns I should consider. I would really prefer a gun that is SA capable and has a manual safety.

Thanks!
Old March 17, 2013, 12:01 AM   #2
BarryLee

So, when you say P238 which is a .380 did you actually mean P938 a 9mm?

Either way I went through a similar process last summer and ended up selecting the G26 for a few of reasons. It has a larger capacity and can also accept any GLOCK 9mm magazine. So, I can install a spacer on a 17 round magazine if I wish or go with a 33 rounder at the range. Also, I just felt like the G26 seemed a little more rugged than the other smaller choices.