The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 27, 2013, 11:50 AM   #1
Strazznah
Member
 
Join Date: January 12, 2009
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 47
Using Buffer in Shotshells

I am in the process of reloading some .410 shells with 00 buck for feeding my Taurus Judge. I have heard about using buffer around the larger size shot, but none of the data that I can find shows to use shot buffer. Is it a good idea? pros/cons?
__________________
"As you swim the river of life, do the breast stroke. It helps to clear the turds from your path."
-George Carlin
Strazznah is offline  
Old February 27, 2013, 12:33 PM   #2
rg1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 6, 2001
Posts: 755
Don't use bufffer UNLESS you find a published load using buffer and then you should only use the exact buffer they do at the exact weight they use. All manuals warn that using buffer increases pressure.
rg1 is offline  
Old February 27, 2013, 02:36 PM   #3
BigJimP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 23, 2005
Posts: 11,305
I'm assuming you're just loading it for range practice....so no, I wouldn't use any buffers.

I've loaded a few boxes of "OO" buck in 2 1/2" .410 shells ( Rem STS ) to shoot in an American Deringer I have .......they performed reasonably well - for some range laughs...
BigJimP is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06006 seconds with 7 queries