The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 19, 2013, 05:06 PM   #1
Fire_Moose
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 16, 2013
Posts: 206
Whoops! (Neck sizing)

Well right now I'm in the process of working up loads while fire forming brass. I had to pull a few bullets last night that I sat too deep. When trying to redo them, I noticed the bullets were slipping in a little too easy.

I have not set up my neck sizer yet (Lee collet) but I noticed the details capping pin seems to be needed to work.

Is there a way to neck size without ejecting a good primer?
Fire_Moose is offline  
Old February 19, 2013, 05:17 PM   #2
hooligan1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 18, 2010
Location: Independence Missouri
Posts: 3,262
Remove decapping pin, if the die doesn't work without decapping pin, get an RCBS.
__________________
Thanks for coming!
hooligan1 is offline  
Old February 19, 2013, 05:17 PM   #3
olddav
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 21, 2008
Location: Lower Alabama
Posts: 413
Pull out the decapping pin?
__________________
Never beat your head against the wall with out a helmet
olddav is offline  
Old February 19, 2013, 06:04 PM   #4
Fire_Moose
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 16, 2013
Posts: 206
Re: Whoops! (Neck sizing)

Oh it will work without the decap pin? When I tried w/o it, the ram just moved up to the bottom of the die and that was it...
Fire_Moose is offline  
Old February 19, 2013, 08:39 PM   #5
higgite
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 21, 2010
Posts: 264
The rod that runs down the middle of the die is the neck sizing mandrel. The die won't work without it. The pin sticking out the end of the mandrel is the decapping pin. It isn't made to be removable on the Lee collet dies that I have. But, you could cut the decapping pin off the mandrel and neck size without decapping, and buy a new mandrel from Lee for $4.00 for when you want to neck size and decap at the same time.

But, if you just have a few primed cases that you need to re-neck size, what I would do is use the die as is, with decapping pin, and s-l-o-w-l-y push the live primer out and then resize the case necks as normal. Then reprime the cases.

Also, if you ran a case up into the die without the mandrel in it, make sure the collet is loose and not stuck in the neck of the die.
higgite is online now  
Old February 19, 2013, 09:39 PM   #6
Fire_Moose
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 16, 2013
Posts: 206
Re: Whoops! (Neck sizing)

Thanks hig! Actually I have a spare mandrel that came with my dies. As far as I can tell its Identical. Funny I didn't think about doing that.
Fire_Moose is offline  
Old February 20, 2013, 01:08 AM   #7
chris in va
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 26, 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 12,513
Check both mandrel's diameter with a caliper. Chances are they are two different sizes.

For example my x39 die set came with a 308 and 311.
chris in va is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07071 seconds with 7 queries