The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old February 2, 2013, 11:55 PM   #1
COASTER

Ammo for GSG 22 CAL 1911 Style handgun

Hello Folks !

I am requesting advice on type of ammunition to use for my GSG 22- 1911 style handgun. It came with a 10 round magazine and as I understand the manufacturer also makes the SIG version. My aim is to use this pistol for not just plinking but also to perfect my technique for my 1911 semi-auto.
I am an amateur so please forgive me if this question is a repeat

I appreciate your experienced opinions.....

Old February 3, 2013, 09:07 AM   #2
Frontpage

I own both the GSG and Sig versions of this gun and they are virtually identical. They both like CCI Mini Mags he best, however I have used Federal Bulk (red box) from Walmart with success also. These guns are both a little finicky with ammo, so when you find one that works for you, stick with it.

Good luck, be careful and have fun (if you can find any 22LR ammo)
Old February 3, 2013, 11:03 AM   #3
qwiksdraw

You can't go wrong with any CCI ammo:Min Mag, AR Tactical, Stinger or Velocitor. Blazer works well too, but I would recommend using them after you have shot 200 - 300 rounds of a copper washed/coated bullet first, Another good round is Remington Golden Bullets.

I have found that copper washed/coated rounds perform best in my Sig 1911 22LR as well as in my American Classic/Chiappa 1911 22 and my Bersa Thunder 22.

With ammo hard to find, I will shoot whatever 22LR ammo I could find on the shelf.

The definition of Finicky is 22 caliber. LOL!
Old February 3, 2013, 04:34 PM   #4
PSP

I use minimag mostly, but some of the cheaper bulk ammo has fed and fired fine, but it's been used only in a few magazines. Nice gun, I've been pleasantly surprised by it's quality and accuracy.
Old February 4, 2013, 02:09 AM   #5
WoofersInc