The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 29, 2013, 11:04 AM   #1
The Scientist
Member
 
Join Date: November 25, 2009
Posts: 30
Easy to change out the bolt in my RRA Operator?

I'd like to exchange out the bolts in my RRA ARs. Easy enough, and if so, what tools will I need. I have new ARs, and I have not torn them down yet. I just don't get to shoot much.... too busy running a business. Thanks for any help
The Scientist is offline  
Old January 29, 2013, 11:22 AM   #2
Carne Frio
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 28, 2008
Location: Near Fairbanks Alaska
Posts: 719
Don't think you need any tools. Check out this government approved tutorial:
http://www.ep.tc/problems/25/02.html
Carne Frio is offline  
Old January 29, 2013, 11:28 AM   #3
Quentin2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 18, 2009
Location: NorthWest USA
Posts: 1,637
Curious, why do you want to replace the bolts?
Quentin2 is offline  
Old January 29, 2013, 01:30 PM   #4
Palmetto-Pride
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 31, 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Curious, why do you want to replace the bolts?
Me too.....if they are new and haven't been shot why the need to replace them?
__________________
“The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money.”

-Margaret Thatcher-
Palmetto-Pride is offline  
Old January 29, 2013, 02:24 PM   #5
UtopiaTexasG19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 3, 2011
Location: S.E. Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 743
You need to learn how to field strip the AR just to keep clean, lubricate and learn the name of the parts involved. It is actually a very simple process once done the first time.
UtopiaTexasG19 is offline  
Old January 29, 2013, 02:47 PM   #6
alex0535
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 4, 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 781
Learn to field strip your AR. This is something you need to know how to do if you are an AR owner whether you shoot a little or a lot.

It will be described in the manual if you have one, and a thousand times over on the internet, in text and video.

This one is very informative and will take you through taking one down as far as you will need to go and putting it back together.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ET1MiCm-0E
alex0535 is offline  
Old January 29, 2013, 03:11 PM   #7
blfuller
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 8, 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 234
If you are actually replacing the original bolt with a new bolt, make sure you check the headspace if you do. If you are just field stripping just follow what they said above.
blfuller is offline  
Old January 29, 2013, 03:20 PM   #8
Quentin2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 18, 2009
Location: NorthWest USA
Posts: 1,637
With the AR, headspacing is set when the barrel extension is installed on the barrel. (And that's almost always done correctly.) So with new parts headspace rarely is an issue in an AR. Still it's easy enough to check with Go/NoGo/Field gauges, and of course never a bad idea.

To me the biggest problem with buying a new bolt or especially a complete BCG - they tend to latch on credit cards, start sucking funds and finally morph into a new rifle!
Quentin2 is offline  
Old January 30, 2013, 02:02 PM   #9
The Scientist
Member
 
Join Date: November 25, 2009
Posts: 30
Thanks for the help guys. I'm not replacing a bolt, I'm only exchanging the bolts between 2 RRA ARs. The ATH has the stainless barrel, and I think having a chromed bolt will look great with it, that's all.
The Scientist is offline  
Old January 30, 2013, 08:41 PM   #10
CTS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 6, 2011
Location: NE Georgia
Posts: 1,070
So you want to swap the entire Bolt Carrier Group right? That is even easier, takes about 2 minutes and no tools needed. Just push the rear takedown pin out, shotgun the rifle, pull the charging hand back a few inches and then slide the bolt carrier out. Take notice of how the gas key fits up into the charging handle so you will need to tip the carrier down slightly to pull completely out. Reverse procedure to reinstall. The bolt is the piece at the very front of the carrier. Make sure it is fully extended when reinstalling.
CTS is offline  
Old January 31, 2013, 01:44 AM   #11
Theohazard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 19, 2012
Location: Western WA
Posts: 2,212
Quote:
So you want to swap the entire Bolt Carrier Group right? That is even easier, takes about 2 minutes and no tools needed.
Two minutes? I can only assume you're including a smoke break!
__________________
0331: "Accuracy by volume."
Theohazard is offline  
Old January 31, 2013, 05:52 AM   #12
Bart Noir
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 5, 2000
Location: Puget Sound, USA
Posts: 1,625
Quote:
I think having a chromed bolt will look great with it, that's all
OK, now I see what you are after.

But, in reality, you really don't see much of the bolt. As noted above, it is the Bolt Carrier Group (BCG) that you see through the ejection port, unless it is locked to the rear.

Bart Noir
__________________
“There’s a rattle in my glove box,
A Federal twelve-gauge slug.” – Adam Carroll in song Porter Wagoner
Bart Noir is offline  
Old January 31, 2013, 09:25 AM   #13
CTS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 6, 2011
Location: NE Georgia
Posts: 1,070
Quote:
Two minutes? I can only assume you're including a smoke break
I was figuring two minutes for someone who doesn't know the difference between a bolt and a BCG.
CTS is offline  
Old January 31, 2013, 09:40 PM   #14
The Scientist
Member
 
Join Date: November 25, 2009
Posts: 30
Yeah, Slappy, thanks for the help. And I can take a little ribbing.... I'm not afraid to admit I'm a novice at these things.

Although I've owned guns my entire life, they've been just .22s, deer rifles, and shotguns. Only in the last couple of years have I been able to financially 'treat' myself... finally paid off my graduate school loans and our business build-out.

Unfortunately, I am so busy with family and running my small business, I don't have a lot of time to educate myself on my new guns, or to shoot much. (Also hard to shoot when its 25 flipping below zero, stupid climate I'm in )
The Scientist is offline  
Old January 31, 2013, 11:00 PM   #15
Mobuck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 2, 2010
Posts: 2,287
I certainly would not advise swapping bolts between factory assembled rifles simply for cosmetic reasons. The bolts will likely fit and fire w/o any problems but it just doesn't seem prudent.
I've finished 1/2 dozen or more AR's using new BCG/bolts in new factory assembled uppers w/o any problems but there's always a chance of a headspace issue when you start mix-n-matching bolts.
Mobuck is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.09163 seconds with 7 queries