The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 21, 2013, 08:46 PM   #1
customaquatics
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 13, 2011
Location: illinois
Posts: 678
anyone use the Nikon BDC rimfire?

im wanting opinions on this scope as ima pair it up with my rimfires. i am able to get the software on my cell.
__________________
23 year old NRA member AKaholic #158907 , 1942 Ex-Sniper Izzy Mosin Nagant, 1970's Marlin 30-30, Remington 870 tatical, Charter Arms The Pink Lady 38 Special.
customaquatics is offline  
Old January 21, 2013, 09:08 PM   #2
WWWJD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: Central KY
Posts: 511
I have a Vortex BDC reticle on my Marlin.... The stadia lines really are handy. They're not dead nuts holds (how could they ever be?).. But that reference point sure helps a lot.


~Mark
WWWJD is offline  
Old January 22, 2013, 06:02 AM   #3
globemaster3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 28, 2006
Posts: 1,200
I use Nikons with BDC reticle a almost exclusively on my rifles along with the Spot On app and enjoy it.

The Rimfire series is on my to-buy list for my .22LRs.
globemaster3 is offline  
Old January 22, 2013, 06:21 AM   #4
born2climb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 17, 2013
Posts: 140
I have a Monarch on my .280. The BDC works perfectly with the loads I was shooting a few years ago (Hornady Light Magnum). I zeroed for 100 yards, then checked at 250 (aiming right between the 200 and 300 circles) and then checked at 400 yards. It was dead on. I haven't checked it with the loads I'm using now, but you can't "tweak" it to make it work. You just have to see at what power it all "comes together" at.
born2climb is offline  
Old January 22, 2013, 12:05 PM   #5
globemaster3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 28, 2006
Posts: 1,200
Born2climb, using their app, you can select from most factory loadings or input your component bullet and muzzle velocity and it will calculate the ranges for your circles, or even the intersections of the top and bottom of each circle. And it will do that for all your power selections. So yes, you can "tweak" it.
globemaster3 is offline  
Old January 23, 2013, 08:39 AM   #6
customaquatics
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 13, 2011
Location: illinois
Posts: 678
how would you guys compare it to the Leupold rimfire scope?
__________________
23 year old NRA member AKaholic #158907 , 1942 Ex-Sniper Izzy Mosin Nagant, 1970's Marlin 30-30, Remington 870 tatical, Charter Arms The Pink Lady 38 Special.
customaquatics is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08732 seconds with 7 queries