The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old December 19, 2012, 06:18 PM   #1
bigjimmy

Upgrade this AR-15 or buy a new one? PIC

Hello,

First post.

I have a Bushmaster AR-15. This gun was bought during the Clinton ban so the stock does not collapse. I would like to buy a new flat-top upper to put on this gun so I can use an EO-Tech sight that I have and add on other accessories.

I really do not know too much about the compatibility between the different AR-15 parts makers. So I have several questions:

1. Should I just buy a completely new gun or buy a new upper and stock for this one? I wondering what makes most sense economically.

2. If I do buy a new upper, does it have to be a Bushmaster or will any AR-15 upper work?

3. If I get a new upper do I need to get a bolt assembly that is specific to that upper or will my current one work?

Here is a pic of my current rifle:

Thanks for any help guys.

Jimmy
Old December 19, 2012, 07:48 PM   #2
Mobuck

Generally speaking, any AR 15 upper will fit on any AR15 lower. There are some tolerance variations that may make the fit looser than you'd like or tighter than is prudent to jam together.
While it's considered acceptable by some to swap BCG between uppers, I would only do so as a last resort. I've found that new bolts and new uppers seem to be fine but used bolt and used or new upper is a question mark.
Old December 19, 2012, 08:18 PM   #3
Quentin2

You might want to test the water and see how much these older A2s go for. I'd say you would do better selling it and getting something more modern, maybe from PSA.

With the current market conditions you might get a good price for the old BM but then pay more for the new AR.

Last edited by Quentin2; December 20, 2012 at 02:54 AM.
Old December 19, 2012, 08:54 PM   #4
GlenF

bigjimmy

I recognize that muzzle break. Big noise.