The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old December 17, 2012, 02:17 AM   #1
Rem1187

Just got a Bersa thunder 380!! CCW options and best .380 carry ammo

Hey guys,

I just picked up a Nickel finish Bersa thunder 380 handgun as I plan to start carrying concealed as soon as my VA CHP gets processed.

I bought an uncle mikes "tuck and go" holster for my future ccw needs. Unfortunately, after fooling around with the gun and holster at home and placing the holster at different positions on my waist i cant help but feel that IWB carry will be rather uncomfortable : / It seems that the gun digs into my stomach each time I sit down.... Am I just doing something wrong/not used to carrying? If anyone has thoughts on how i can best concealed carry my Bersa I would appreciate input as I am new to the world of ccw.

Furthermore, any Bersa thunder owners have recommendations for a good HP cary load ?

Thanks a lot guys, Ill be taking the pistol to the range for the first time tmrw.
Old December 17, 2012, 05:17 AM   #2
Sparks1957

I carry my guns at a 3:30-4 o'clock position... much more comfortable.

I use Remington Golden Sabers myself, a proven SD round that is relatively inexpensive and easy to find, though a lot of folks will say to use a flat-nose bullet with .380

Also, don't use an ammonia-based solvent like Hoppe's #9 on that nickel plate... it will flake off
Old December 17, 2012, 08:17 AM   #3
qwiksdraw

The Theis holster I use for my BT380 works very well. It allows me to position the gun for both concealability and comfort.

As for ammo, my gun shoots anything I put in it so you probably won't have any problems finding something you like. For what it's worth, and inviting much debate, I do alternate in my mag between FMJ and JHP. Since my first shot would be in DA, I start with the FMJ.
Old December 17, 2012, 08:48 AM   #4
jimbob86

Quote: