The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 13, 2012, 08:29 PM   #1
leadchucker

Loading to factory specs

I'm fairly new to reloading, and I try very hard to follow the accepted practice of using the starting load data and working my way up to a load of acceptable performance, for a particular bullet type and weight, powder, primer combination. Haven't created any monsters yet.

I can see how variables could adversely affect a load's performance and safety.

But let's say you get the same brass, bullets, powder, and primers as a factory round, and you load rounds to the identical specs of the factory round. You've eliminated all the variables. You should be able to expect the rounds to perform identically to factory ammo, without the usual routine of working up to that load.

Can that be done, practically? If not, why not?
Old December 13, 2012, 08:53 PM   #2
Brian Pfleuger
Staff

You didn't eliminate all the variables.

Your gun doesn't have their chamber or barrel and you almost certainly don't have the same Lot #s of primers and powder.
Old December 13, 2012, 08:57 PM   #3
GeauxTide

Load to reloading manual specs with better than factory bullets. Happiness will ensue.
Old December 13, 2012, 09:14 PM   #4
Rusty35

Quote:
Brian Pfleuger
Staff

You didn't eliminate all the variables.

Your gun doesn't have their chamber or barrel and you almost certainly don't have the same Lot #s of primers and powder.
Factory ammo has been tested in my guns
Old December 13, 2012, 09:25 PM   #5
leadchucker

Ammo makers routinely turn out ammo that fires safely in the vast overwhelming majority of guns out there. It wasn't worked up in your gun, like your handloads are, and yet it is predictably safe in your gun.

What have the ammo makers got that we don't have? Why can't we replicate the predictability that the ammo makers can?
Old December 13, 2012, 09:26 PM   #6
reynolds357