The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old December 6, 2012, 07:16 PM   #1
TheFineLine

Blazer aluminum case out of a Rossi 38 sp

I picked up an old rossi interarms 38 special (not +P rated) from a cop for $100 including 45 rounds of ammo. It was his backup and only ever shot 5 rounds out of it. I've put a few hundred thru it and its a good little snubby. I just bought a box of blazer ammo for $12. Turns out it has aluminum casing (I know, I know, I should have read the box first). I don't reload so don't really care about that part. I know steel casing can screw up a good weapon and wanted to see if aluminum casing would be an issue out of my Rossi.

Secondly, since I can't use +P what would be the best self defense ammo to use in it?
Old December 6, 2012, 07:52 PM   #2
royal barnes

The aluminum cased ammo will not harm your revolver. I have been using Federal 125 grain Nyclads for several years but recently started experimenting with the Hornady 158 grain XTP jacketed hollow point. It is a standard velocity round running about 725 fps from my Colt Agent. Recoil is fairly mild allowing quick follow up shots and testing shows good penetration and expansion to about .526 diameter. I may start carrying that as my defensive load. Most .38's are regulated at the factory to shoot 158 grain to POA. My Agent does with this round.
Old December 6, 2012, 07:55 PM   #3
Ricklin

They may stick

I have seen the Blazer aluminum case stick in the chambers of revolvers. Not a big deal. Just make sure you support the cylinder well when you tap the case out with an appropriate size hardwood dowel. Otherwise you could damage the crane.
Old December 6, 2012, 08:39 PM   #4
wnycollector

Quote:
since I can't use +P what would be the best self defense ammo to use in it?
148gr WC's make decent regular pressure SD ammo.
Old December 6, 2012, 09:47 PM   #5
carguychris

Quote:
I know steel casing can screw up a good weapon...