The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 11, 2012, 10:25 AM   #1
Pa_Shooter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 9, 2012
Posts: 1
243 Win Reloading Question

I may be asking something previously asked but I need to see if I am right. I am reloading for a 243 POF Ar-10. I loaded 4 different loads from the Lyman Book for different grain bullets. I did it all as per the book, shot the loads, came back from the range and put all the brass in the tumbler. I resized them, cleaned all the primer pockets and primed all of them. Half of the brass had primer pockets that were way too big, the primer went in with no resistance whatsoever. I know that an over-pressured load will do this and I have heard of magnum primers sometimes doing this but I uses CCI 200s so I know thats not the problem. Anyone with some ideas??
Pa_Shooter is offline  
Old December 11, 2012, 10:38 AM   #2
Brian Pfleuger
Staff
 
Join Date: June 25, 2008
Location: Central, Southern NY, USA
Posts: 18,791
We're going to need a lot more information to give you any kind of answer.

What are the specific loads you were using?

Is the brass new? All one brand? Used previously but in your gun or someone elses?
__________________
Still happily answering to the call-sign Peetza.
---
The problem, as you so eloquently put it, is choice.
-The Architect
-----
He is no fool who gives what he can not keep to gain what he can not lose.
-Jim Eliott, paraphrasing Philip Henry.
Brian Pfleuger is offline  
Old December 11, 2012, 11:34 AM   #3
oneoldsap
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 16, 2009
Location: I live in the foot of the Green Mountains of Vermont
Posts: 1,590
If you had kept each load segregated , you'd know which load or loads were the culprit ! Throw out the brass with the distended primer pockets , and start over , if those Primer pockets stretched that much , the primers must have backed out to some extent and were probably readily apparent ! Keep your brass seperate for each load , all the way back to the reloading bench for final inspection . I'm sure your problems have more to do with charge weight , than primers or anything else !
oneoldsap is offline  
Old December 13, 2012, 02:29 AM   #4
mohr308
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 15, 2012
Location: Western New York
Posts: 430
when im taking a bunch of rounds with different charges in them, i write the grains on the side of the brass with a permanent marker. it helps.
__________________
Lock and load, the zombies (democrats) are coming (to take your guns)!
mohr308 is offline  
Old December 13, 2012, 09:59 AM   #5
schmellba99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 8, 2008
Posts: 606
^
|
|

Same here. Makes knowing what you have in the ammo box quick and easy, and there is no guessing involved.
schmellba99 is offline  
Old December 13, 2012, 08:29 PM   #6
reynolds357
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 10, 2012
Posts: 2,542
My first guess is that over pressure is the culprit. Bad lot of brass is an extremely remote possibility.
reynolds357 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07064 seconds with 9 queries